Discontinued Awards

TAC’s awards program continues to evolve. While the awards described below are no longer offered, the accomplishments of their recipients continue to be recognized and valued by the association.

Honorary Life Membership

This award recognized valuable contributions to the development of transportation in Canada. It was given to TAC’s outgoing President, members of the Board of Directors retiring after at least five years of service, and other volunteers who have contributed to the development of transportation in Canada.

A chronological listing of  Honorary Life Members (1950-2018) is available. 

Award for Service

This award was given to individuals making a long-term contribution to TAC or the transportation sector, who had not received other TAC awards. A chronological listing of Award for Service recipients (1992-2018) is available. 

Award of Merit

This award was given ex-officio to retiring chairs of TAC councils. A chronological listing of Award of Merit winners (1974-2018) is available. 

Retiring Committee Chairs

This award was given ex-officio to retiring chairs of TAC committees. A chronological listing of previous Committee Chairs (2002-2018) is available. 

Canadian Transportation Awards Program (CTAP)

These awards recognized leadership, excellence and achievement in all modes and segments of the transport sector from 2005 to 2014. The program was coordinated by TAC, and funded until 2012 by Transport Canada. Winners were selected by an independent panel of judges representing the air, rail, marine and road modes of transportation. A chronological listing of previous CTAP Award recipients (2005-2014) is available.  The awards included:

  • Transportation Person of the Year - for leadership that contributed to the improvement or advancement of the transportation industry as a whole or any one of its modes or segments
  • Award of Excellence - for the betterment of the transportation industry over several years in such areas as safety, sustainable development, research, technology, policy or corporate development
  • Award of Achievement - for positive and measurable improvements of significant and enduring benefit to transportation, through innovation and initiative on a particular project or program
  • Award of Academic Merit - for long-term contributions to the advancement of the academic field and to the development of future transportation leaders


Thank you to our Premier Sponsors