Environment & Climate Change Council


This Council guides TAC in fulfilling its commitment to protection of the environment and climate in the delivery of transportation services, and in the planning, approval, design, construction, operation, maintenance and rehabilitation of transportation infrastructure. More specifically, the Council is a national forum for information exchange and problem solving related to climate change mitigation and adaptation, environmental impact avoidance and mitigation, environmental legislation and regulation, and environmental management systems.

The Council is supported by three committees:

The Council meets in person twice a year, at TAC’s Spring and Fall Technical Meetings. Meetings are open to all employees of TAC member organizations, individual TAC members, and others at the discretion of the Chair. For more information on the Council, see its Terms of Reference or contact Craig Stackpole.

 What's New?

Members and Executive

All TAC member organizations can appoint one employee as a member of this Council. The current members of the Executive are:

  • Chair - Dawn Irish, Ministry of Transportation, Ontario
  • Vice-Chair - Glen Furtado, Cement Association of Canada
  • Past Chair - Shauna Lehmann, Saskatchewan Ministry of Highways
  • Board Liaison - Lon LaClaire, City of Vancouver
  • Chair of the Climate Change Integrated Committee
  • Chair of the Environmental Issues Committee
  • Chair of the Environmental Legislation Committee
  • Secretary - Craig Stackpole, TAC

View the roster of members


Thank you to our Premier Sponsors