Safety, Design & Operations Council


This Council guides TAC in fulfilling its commitment to a safe and efficient transportation system with enhanced mobility and a reduced rate of death and injury among all road users. More specifically, the Council is a national forum for information exchange and problem solving related to road safety programs, geometric design and traffic operations as key elements of a safe systems approach; it also offers a lens on priority issues for small municipalities.

The Council is supported by four committees:

The Council meets in person twice a year, at TAC’s Spring and Fall Technical Meetings. Meetings are open to all employees of TAC member organizations, individual TAC members, and others at the discretion of the Chair. For more information on the Council, see its Terms of Reference or contact Craig Stackpole.

What's New?

Members and Executive

Voting membership on the Council is restricted to representatives of TAC’s Chief Engineer jurisdictions. Non-voting members include the chairs of committees created by the Council, and appointees of other selected organizations.

The current members of the Executive are:

  • Chair - Katie Munroe, Yukon Highways and Public Works
  • Vice-Chair - Daniel Beaulieu, Ville de Montréal
  • Past Chair – Ashley Curtis, City of Toronto
  • Board Liaison - Kevin Volk, British Columbia Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Chair of the Geometric Design Committee
  • Chair of the Road Safety Committee
  • Chair of the Small Municipalities Integrated Committee
  • Chair of the Traffic Operations & Management Committee
  • Secretary - Craig Stackpole, TAC

View the roster of members


Thank you to our Premier Sponsors