Geometric Design Committee


This committee supports the Safety, Design & Operations Council. It is a centre of expertise within TAC and a national forum for information exchange and problem solving related to the geometric design of facilities (including interchanges, intersections, cross sections, and horizontal and vertical alignments) for all modes of road transportation (including motor vehicles, bicycles and pedestrians), including the influence of geometric design on road capacity, operation, maintenance, safety and aesthetics, and its climatic, environmental, social and economic impacts. Its broad goals include:

  • Developing guidance for geometric design practices in Canada
  • Organizing, stimulating and coordinating research for the improvement of geometric design practices in Canada
  • Encouraging the implementation of recommended guidance in Canadian provinces and territories

The Committee meets in person twice a year, and by teleconference as needed. Meetings are open to all employees of TAC member organizations, individual TAC members, and others at the discretion of the Chair. For more information on the Committee, see its Terms of Reference or contact Craig Stackpole.

Members and Executive

All TAC member organizations can appoint one or more members on this Committee. The current members of the Executive are:

  • Chair - Anne Sherwood, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Vice-Chair - Jack Mason, ISL Engineering
  • Secretary - John Maree, Associated Engineering Group Ltd.
  • Past Chair - Jeffrey Crang, Tetra Tech Canada


Joint Roundabouts Subcommittee

  • Chair - Phil Weber, CIMA Canada

Revisions & Additions Subcommittee

  • Co-Chair - Henning Buch, Jacobs
  • Co-Chair - Dave Dulay, McElhanney


Thank you to our Premier Sponsors