Names in the News | June 2021

Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Updates about people working in, or organizations serving, the transportation and road-related industries.

TAC welcomed the following organizations as members in April and May:

  • 4Sight Inc.
  • Alectra Utilities
  • Barricades and Signs Ltd.
  • Bentley Canada
  • City of Fort Saskatchewan
  • McStrong Safety Services
  • Ontario Traffic Council
  • Township of Georgian Bluffs
  • Town of Westville

TAC also gained 7 new individual members in the Student, In Job Transition or Retiree categories. As of 2021, student memberships are free for full-time students in Canada and a new individual category of membership intended for either new graduates or those temporarily unemployed due to graduation or employment change was added. Learn about changes to TAC memberships that took effect in 2021.

Kevin Bebenek, former Regional Director of IBI’s Canada East operations, has been appointed to Global Director of the firm’s Intelligence sector. Kevin will succeed Derek Sims, who held the role since 2013. Read the news release.

Congratulations to Joanne Vanderheyden, FCM’s new president. Joanne is the mayor of the Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc, Ontario and has been FCM’s Board of Directors since 2015.

Congratulations to Fred Antunes, who has joined SNC Lavalin as VP, Capture Management, Major Projects.

AECOM has announced that Darren Sokoloski has been named vice president of public-private partnership (P3) advisory services for its Canada business.

The IRD team is excited to announce that Rish Malhotra, IRD President and CEO, has been elected to the ITS Canada Board of Directors!

LEA recently welcomed Ben Hunter as the new Vice President of Business Development and Transit Lead, for our Canadian operations. Read the full story.

If you have news to share about a move, appointment or achievement in this periodic column, send your information to


Thank you to our Premier Sponsors