What’s HappeningNewsChanges in TAC’s Board Leadership

Changes in TAC’s Board Leadership

November 3, 2023

We are pleased to announce that Peter Hackett has stepped into the role of TAC President.

He takes over from Sarah Thiele who was recently appointed Clerk of the Executive Council and Cabinet Secretary in Manitoba, leaving her role as Deputy Minister, Transportation and Infrastructure.

Peter is Deputy Minister, Nova Scotia Public Works, and a professional engineer. He is a strong supporter of TAC, having been a long-time volunteer in the Association’s network including as Nova Scotia’s Chief Engineer and Chair of the Local Organizing Committee for the 2019 Halifax conference. He has been a TAC Board Director since 2021.

Bryce Stewart, Deputy Minister, Alberta Transportation and Economic Corridors, will join TAC’s Executive Committee as Vice President, Federal/Provincial/Territorial. Other continuing officers are:

  • Lon LaClaire (City of Vancouver): Vice President Municipal
  • Scott Stewart (Scott Stewart & Associates): Vice President Members-at-large
  • Michael Thompson (City of Calgary): Treasurer
  • Sarah Wells (TAC): Executive Director and Secretary

Under President Thiele, TAC’s work progressed with several notable achievements made. A return to an in-person conference, growth in membership and volunteer participation, the launch of TAC’s online training program, and strengthened reserves that protect the Association and its key publications were all part of TAC’s success in the last two years. Sarah’s thoughtful and engaged leadership was greatly appreciated by her Board colleagues, TAC staff and the membership at large. She will be missed in the role and has our best wishes for success in her exciting new position with the Manitoba Government.