What’s HappeningNewsNames in the News | February 2023

Names in the News | February 2023

February 8, 2023

Updates about people working in, or organizations serving, the transportation and road-related industries

TAC welcomed the following organizations as members from December 1, 2022, to January 31, 2023:

  • Ville de Caraquet
  • Traffic Injury Research Foundation
  • Big Lakes County
  • Stuckless Consulting
  • Municipality of Trent Hills
  • Dunsky Energy + Climate Advisors
  • Sheridan College
  • T2 Utility Engineers

TAC also gained five new individual members in the student categoryLearn about TAC memberships.

Val Sylaj, Ph.D., has assumed the role of President of the Canadian Precast/ Prestressed Concrete Institute (CPCI), following Robert Burak’s retirement. Effective January 1, 2023.

We are saddened to learn of the death of Michael Maher. Michael was with Golder at the time of his passing in mid-November. He had been involved in TAC in the pavements and soils and materials areas. Read his full obituary.

Catherine Harwood has moved from her position as Assistant Deputy Minister for corporate services with Yukon Highways and Public Works to take on the role of Deputy Minister of the department. She officially started on January 3, 2023.

Alfred A. Guebert P.Eng., PTOE (H) has been recognized as an Honorary Member of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE), the highest recognition of notable and outstanding professional achievement ITE presents to an individual. Alfred is a long-time TAC volunteer, and his firm, AAGuebert & Associates, is a TAC member organization. Congratulations! Read the press release.

Congratulations to Daniel Shihundu P.Eng, MBA on his appointment as Transoft Solutions’ new CEO! Daniel joined Transoft Solutions in 2007 as a Senior Civil Engineer and oversaw the forming of Transoft’s first Product Management team and was quickly promoted within the company. He has held various positions at Transoft including Senior Vice President of Civil & Transportation, and most recently, President. Milton Carrasco will be stepping back after three decades as CEO into the position of Chair of the Board. See the LinkedIn post.

Bryce Stewart has taken on the Deputy Minister position in Alberta Transportation and Economic Corridors effective January 18.