Names in the News | August 2022

Monday, August 15, 2022

Updates about people working in, or organizations serving, the transportation and road-related industries.

TAC welcomed the following organizations as members from June 1 through July 31, 2022:

  • Safety Base Ltd.
  • County of Haliburton
  • Mobilsafe Solutions Ltd.
  • Straight Tracks
  • PTech Engineering Solutions Inc.
  • University of Regina
  • CSMI

TAC also gained 14 new individual members in the student categoryLearn about TAC memberships.

Alberta Transport Minister Rajan Sawhney stepped down from her role to join the leadership contest for Alberta’s United Conservative Party. Prasad Panda will serve as both Alberta’s Minister of Infrastructure and as Acting Minister of Transportation. Read the full news release or view Prasad Panda’s official biography.

Paul Murchison has left Yukon Highways & Public Works for a new role with Yukon Energy Corporation. Taryn Scollard (City of Vancouver) has assumed Paul’s role as Chair of TAC’s Chief Engineers Panel.

Tony Kratofil, AASHTO representative on our Chief Engineers Panel, has retired from Michigan DOT (MDOT). We wish him well and appreciate his role in maintaining the relationship between TAC and AASHTO over the years. AASHTO’s seat will be filled by Brad Wieferich, also from MDOT.

On July 18, 2022, Arcadis and IBI Group Inc. jointly announced that they have entered into an agreement for Arcadis to acquire all issued and outstanding shares of IBI Group. The acquisition of IBI Group, a forward thinking, technology-driven design firm, will strengthen Arcadis' digital leadership, complement its position in North America, and drive global growth of its combined solutions. Read the full news release.

Shauna Lehmann, an active participant on several TAC committees, has received the 2022 Outstanding Achievement Award from the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists Saskatchewan (APEGS). Congratulations Shauna! Read the full article.

Valérie Gagnon has accepted a new role as Director of the Rivière-des-Prairies-Point-aux-Trembles borough at the City of Montreal. Previously she held the position of Director of Mobility. Congratulations on your new role. View LinkedIn post.

Paul McConnell has left Yukon Highways and Public Works and Scott Milton has been named Acting Deputy Minister. Catherine Harwood will take on the role of Deputy Minister of the department on January 3, 2023.



Thank you to our Premier Sponsors