Message from the Executive Director | 2021 Awards

Monday, July 12, 2021

TAC members are remarkable. Whether we’re talking about member organizations or individuals who volunteer their time and expertise to the Association’s work, their collective contributions make a real difference to improving transportation in Canada. To celebrate some of our members’ outstanding achievements, it’s an honour to present a suite of TAC awards each year. Read more about the 2021 awards and the deserving recipients in our e-booklet, Recognizing our Peers.

Six technical achievement awards were conferred for outstanding projects, led by TAC member organizations, in one of four categories. The winners, as well as the finalists in the award process, were showcased in a series of webinars presented in June and July. Watch the webinar recordings to learn more about the innovative undertakings that were recognized this year.

TAC couldn’t achieve its vision and mission without its dedicated volunteers. In 2021, it’s a pleasure to recognize Jack MacDonald, City of Moncton, with TAC’s Distinguished Service Award, the Association’s highest honour.

We are also delighted to recognize the notable individual contributions of Ethan Askey, City of Calgary, Derek Drummond, Stantec Consulting Ltd. (now with Dawson Road Maintenance), Lucas Knowles, Yukon Highways and Public Works and Lisa Salsberg, Access Planning, as well as the effective leadership of Taso Koutroulakis, Halifax Regional Municipality, Tim Murphy, Parsons and Mark Popik, Thurber Engineering.

Two young professionals receive important distinctions. Congratulations to Liraz Fridman, TAC’s 2021 Young Transportation Professional honoree. Also to be congratulated is Jean-Pascal Cloutier, this year’s recipient of the Allan Widger Consulting Corporation Grant for Young Geotechnical Engineers in Transportation.

Much of TAC’s work is accomplished through our network of councils and committees and this year we are proud to recognize two committees with awards of excellence. The Road Safety Committee and the Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Canada Project Steering Committee are both honoured for their exceptional work over many years.

Finally, we also want to acknowledge the important contributions made by the many people who step up to chair councils and committees and who have participated on TAC’s Board of Directors. For a volunteer organization, those roles are critical to our success and we are grateful to all who serve.

Congratulations to all TAC award recipients. We’re really proud to celebrate your achievements and I know the broad TAC membership joins me in thanking you for being part of the Association and for sharing your skills and talents with us.

Sarah Wells, P.Eng., Ph.D.
Executive Director


Thank you to our Premier Sponsors