TAC Distinguished Service Award

This award is TAC’s highest honour. It recognizes leaders who have had a tangible and enduring impact on the association’s progress toward its vision and mission, and thereby on Canada’s transportation sector. Recipients have contributed actively to TAC councils and committees for at least 15 years, among their 25 years or more of industry experience.

Nominations must be submitted by January 31 to be considered for that year’s award. Nominations may be made by any TAC member, and must include a description of the nominee’s experience and accomplishments (up to 500 words) plus a CV. Nominees must be current or recently retired employees of a TAC member organization.

Winners are approved by TAC’s Board of Directors, with no limit on the number of recipients each year. Each winner receives an allowance of up to $2,000 to defray the costs of attending the TAC conference where the award is presented.

Submit a nomination

Key Dates

  • January 31 – Deadline for nominations for that year’s award
  • June – Winners announced
  • Fall – Awards presented at TAC Conference

Previous Recipients

2022 Gerry Chaput, IBI Group
Ruth Eden (late), formerly with Manitoba Transportation and Infrastructure
Anne-Marie Leclerc, ministère des Transports du Québec
2021 Jack MacDonald, City of Moncton

Gérard Desgagné, formerly with Ministère des Transports du Québec (retired)
Darrell Evans, P.E.I. Transportation, Infrastructure and Energy
Alf Guebert, AAGuebert & Associates Inc.
Ed Miska, British Columbia Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure


Jadwiga Kroman, City of Calgary
Brad Neirinck, City of Winnipeg
Dirk Nyland, formerly of British Columbia Ministry of Transportation & Infrastructure
Wanda Richardson, formerly of AECOM Canada Ltd.
Guy Tremblay, formerly of Ministère des Transports du Québec


Barry Belcourt, City of Edmonton
Darren Carter, Alberta Transportation
David Duncan, Manitoba Infrastructure
Cindy Lucas, retired, previously with Ontario Ministry of Transportation
Geoffrey Millen, WSP Canada Inc.
Sarah O’Keefe, Transport Canada
Michael Skene, Watt Consulting Group


Keith Boddy, Nova Scotia Transportation & Infrastructure Renewal
Richard Chow, retired previously with Alberta Transportation
Carl Clayton, Stantec Consulting Ltd.
Heather Crewe, retired, previously with Ontario Good Roads Association
Rico Fung, retired previously with Cement Association of Canada
David Hein, Applied Research Associates Inc.
Moh Lali, retired previously with Alberta Transportation
Russell Neudorf, retired, previously with Government of Northwest Territories


Walter Burdz, Manitoba Infrastructure
Eric Christiansen, Manitoba Infrastructure
Peter Dzikowski, Saskatchewan Highways and Infrastructure
John Hammer, WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff
Shiraz Kanji, City of Edmonton
Rod Sanderson, City of Chilliwack
Howard Yea, Saskatchewan Highways and Infrastructure


Geni Bahar, NAVIGATS Inc.
Kenneth Becking, Corporation of the City of Owen Sound
Said Kass, Manitoba Infrastructure and Transportation
Al Cepas, City of Edmonton
Larry Purcka, Government of Northwest Territories


Michel Masse, ministère des Transports du Québec
Don Snider, Alberta Transportation


Gerry Forbes, Intus Road Safety Engineering Inc.
Graham Gilfillan, GVW Consulting Group
Scott Hanna, Hatch Ltd.
Dr. Allen Stewart, Royal Military College


Vic Anderson, Delcan Corporation
Moh Lali, Alberta Transportation
John Robinson, Flood Murray International Inc.
Russ Smith, Transport Canada
Hart Solomon, CIMA+
Gary Welsh, retired


Tom AppaRao, Regional Municipality of Peel
Gary Mack, ISL Engineering and Land Services Ltd.
David McCusker, Halifax Regional Municipality
Randolph Sanderson, Transport Canada
Pierre Tremblay, ministère des Transports du Québec
Thérèse Trépanier, ministère des Transports du Québec


Dave Banks, HDR | iTRANS
Allan R. Widger, University of Regina
Tom Kazmierowski, Ministry of Transportation, Ontario


Tim Hawnt, Alberta Transportation
Andrew T. Horosko
Rob Penny, Alberta Environment


Merv Clark, EBA Engineering Consultants Ltd.
Guy Doré, Université Laval
Douglas P. Floyd, Delcan Corporation
Ralph Haas, University of Waterloo
Carl A. Hennum
Bob Hodgins, Ecoplans Limited
John R. Hosang, Manitoba Transportation and Government Services
Neal A. Irwin, IBI Group
Brian Marcotte
Larry McCormick
Dr. John Morrall, University of Calgary
Michael J.E. Sheflin
Nick Tunnacliffe, Regional Municipality of Peel




Thank you to our Premier Sponsors