2020 TAC Young Professional and Student Award Winners

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Congratulations to the students and young professionals who received a Transportation Association of Canada (TAC) award in 2020! Check out this year’s TAC Awards booklet for more information on all this year’s winners.

TAC Young Transportation Professional Award

This award recognizes an employee of a TAC member organization who has made outstanding contributions to the transportation sector, and who is not more than 35 years old.


Elli Papaioannou, HDR

Elli earned Master’s degrees in engineering from institutions in Greece and Canada, and has experience in transportation planning and engineering in both the public and private sectors. She is a member of HDR’s multidisciplinary long-range transportation planning team, has authored nine papers and presentations for TAC and CITE, volunteers as a Young People in Transportation committee member, and is a member of Women’s Transportation Seminar. She is involved in HDR’s Young Professionals Group (YPG), and in 2019 organized a summit that brought over 200 of HDR’s young professionals to Toronto.


Allan Widger Consulting Corporation Grant for Young Geotechnical Engineers in Transportation

This award provides financial support to a young geotechnical engineer working in transportation to enable his/her attendance and participation in TAC’s conference and technical meetings.


Ahmed Ghazy, City of Winnipeg

Ahmed is a Research and Standards Engineer in the City of Winnipeg’s Public Works Department. He completed his PhD in Civil Engineering at the University of Manitoba in 2018, and is a registered professional engineer with 12 years of experience and numerous publications related to materials performance and durability. He is a member of TAC’s Pavements Committee, Soils & Materials Committee, Automated Pavement Condition Data Collection User Group, and Mechanistic Empirical Pavement Design User Group. He is also a member of several Transportation Research Board standing committees, and an Adjunct Professor at the University of Manitoba.


TAC Student Paper Awards

These awards recognize the excellence of papers delivered at TAC’s annual conference by full-time post-secondary students, evaluated by members of TAC’s Workforce Development Council.


1st Prize: Andrew Northmore, University of New Brunswick  

Development of Collision Adjustment Factors for the Canadian Traffic Signal Warrant Matrix Procedure




2nd Prize: Daniel Mroz, Western University

Evaluation of Modified H-Piles Subject to Lateral Loading for Sound Wall Applications




3rd Prize: Mai Alawneh, University of Saskatchewan

Investigating the Freeze-Thaw Damage in Asphalt Concrete Using Imaging Techniques