2019 TAC Awards

Thursday, June 20, 2019

The 2019 TAC Awards are the Association's flagship awards program that recognizes and rewards excellence across all sectors of transportation nationwide. 

Following approvals by TAC’s Councils and Board of Directors at the Spring Technical Meetings in Ottawa, we are pleased to announce that the following awards will be presented to deserving recipients at the 2019 Joint TAC-ITS Canada Conference & Exhibition in Halifax:

Technical Achievement Awards

TAC Educational Achievement Award
Urban Systems Ltd., Bicycle Facilities Design Course

TAC Environmental Achievement Award
Regional Municipality of York, The Bayview Corridor Project

TAC Road Safety Engineering Award
City of Calgary, Traffic Calming Curbs

TAC Sustainable Urban Transportation Award
City of Ottawa, Chapman Mills Drive Transit Priority and Active Transportation Corridor

Volunteer Contribution Awards

TAC Individual Contribution Award

  • Ania Anthony, Saskatchewan Highways and Infrastructure
  • Adam Hayashi, (formerly of) Cement Association of Canada
  • Shauna Lehmann, Saskatchewan Highways and Infrastructure
  • Richard Tebinka, WSP Canada

TAC Leadership Award
Clark Gunter, WSP Canada

TAC Distinguished Service Award

  • Jadwiga Kroman, City of Calgary
  • Brad Neirinck, City of Winnipeg
  • Dirk Nyland, (formerly of) British Columbia Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Wanda Richardson, (formerly of) AECOM
  • Guy Tremblay, (formerly of) Ministère des Transports du Québec

TAC Committee Excellence Award
Road Safety Workforce Subcommittee, Road Safety Standing Committee

Young Professional & Student Awards

TAC Young Transportation Professional Award
Papa Masseck Thiam, FPInnovations

Allan Widger Consulting Corporation Grant for Young Geotechnical Engineers in Transportation
Sam Esfandiarpour, Thurber Engineering Ltd.